Two fat gypsies and an elevator…

Going on holiday is exciting. You at least expect it to be day three before anything weird happens. But my holiday to Izmir, Turkey welcomed me to its weirdness on day one. 

You elevators (lifts if you are British) they always have that warning that reads “only 500kg” or “maximum ten people” but you always ignore it as nothing ever happens back at home. This particular elevator said 4 people max. I was waiting for the elevator when two very large women jumped in front of me. They ran in straight away as they held on to their bucket of flowers they were selling and began to nibble on sunflower seeds. So I went inside followed by 5 other members of my family. We were all women. 

The gypsies started moaning and said some of us should take the stairs. I was stubborn as it was our lift first. As it went down suddenly it came to a stop and through the sliding glass doors we could see 3/4th wall and 1/4th glass. (I’m terrible at maths, just pretend you get it) 

Of course with my undiagnosed panic attack I began to terrorise everyone and remanded freedom. My cousin began to bang on the glass to get someone’s attention while the gypsies started saying I told you so and carried on with their sunflower seeds. 

After a few minutes I started posing for selfies and laughed about the situation. Then an old man knelt down and asked how many people were stuck inside. We said 7 and he’s reply was “well, it will take them half and hour to get you out!” While only displaying ten fingers. (I’m not the only one thats bad at maths) with that responds I saw that my aunts glasses where started the stream up. And so I panicked again and thought we’d all die from lack of oxygen. Someone pulled open the doors for fresh air and the gypsies said we should be careful not to fall down through the gap. And so I pulled the doors shut. And remembered all the horror films I ever watched. And all the news about Brits dying aboard. I imagined us trying to climb out of the door and onto the platform and the lift suddenly moving down and splitting our bodies in half. My mind was a dangerous place. 

Then my mother had an idea that we should shift the weight away and so we moved about and suddenly the lift started going down… “Why are they pulling us down, why won’t they pull us up?!!” I panicked again but it does make more sense to bring the weight down rather than up. I guess we saved ourselves. 

Now you know what to do if you ever get stuck. Though this wasn’t the first nor last time it happened to me. 

Leave a comment